Foreign Cinema Restaurant, San Francisco

Looking interested in dead conversations is an art form. Don’t get me wrong, I’m sociable enough, I like to talk and am happy to listen but sometimes, even that requires effort. When I’m not in the mood to make an effort I’ll let my mind drift across the room, I’ll count the waiters, and if there’s a window I’ll check out the view…

But this [cinema restaurant concept], this is fantastic! You actually have a valid excuse to not look intently into your dining counterpart and just munch!

If I was a seahorse/cow/person with the stomach of 4 people I’d get:

Oyster chowder: Hama Hamas in white wine, cream, Pernod, mirepoix, croutons

Grilled lamb skewers, hummus, avocado chutney

Local white tuna tartare, ginger-lime, cucumber, radish, mojo verde

Baked Chelsea gem clams, shallots, garlic, breadcrumbs, olive oil

Fried scallops and local squid, roasted rabe, Meyer lemon mayo

Alaskan halibut, English peas, baby carrots, nasturtium butter, Champagne sauce

Sauteed risotto galettes, asparagus, mushroom sugo, shaved Pepato, lemon oil

Tunisian spiced duck breast, warm apriums, farro, spinach, preserved lemon, pate crostini

And if you’re into oysters, this restaurant has an oyster bar…

Foreign Cinema Address 2534 Mission Street, San Francisco CA 94110 Phone 415-648-7600

Leave a Reply

