What would Confucius know? [pg. 9 of The Story]

<<previous page

Hayley’s voice inside my head was not the least bit calming on my nerves.

Just be yourself. Mind you, the last person I gave that piece of advice to lost the job because he was, well, being himself.

I was in the office of Mr Carter (my boss’ client, property investment guru and most important person in my life for the next 30 minutes) and having an identity crisis.  To say that I was nervous was an understatement.

“Abby, what are we here to talk about today? Why have you come to see me?”

“A few weeks ago you discussed with my supervisor, Mr Carlson, about putting in a restaurant on level 2 of one of your buildings. I think that is good. A good idea, I mean.” Why was my throat seizing up? I sound all deep and phlegmy… like a man. Great.

I cleared my throat and continued, “I think the location is perfect for a restaurant. There’s ample surrounding parking. With good tenants in the retail downstairs to help with the foot traffic, I think it will be a real success. I’d like to be involved. I’d like to open the restaurant.”

He listened to my ‘elevator’ pitch with a look of amusement on his face and floored me with his next question, “What makes you think you can open a restaurant with no experience in the industry?”

There was a moment of dead air.

I finally blurted, “I don’t know. I just… I just want to have a job that I love, because, if you love your job you won’t work a day in your life…”

“Abby, let me tell you something. If you do find a job that you love, you will work harder, work longer hours, and have less of a life than being on any other job. That’s because you will have the motivation and drive to achieve your dream. So, you want to open a restaurant? You think you’re up for it?”

“Yes I am.” Did I even hear what he just said?

“I think,” I added as an afterthought.

>> next page

Leave a Reply

