Public, New York

The first restaurant to feature in my ‘restaurant world series’ is Public of NYC. I remember reading a review on this restaurant years back. The fact that I still remember probably means it made an impression of sorts. So I decided to refresh my memory and visit… the website (one can still salivate and appreciate, right?)

The Brunch menu had me at ‘freshly baked scone or muffin with preserves’ well.. I have a soft spot for scones. But, seriously, read on… tea smoked salmon eggs benedict or ‘whiskey glazed apple, slow roast tomatoes and sourdough toast’.

I’m not a huge huge fan of fusion slash international cuisine but the ingredients on the menu seem to have a nice balance of flavours that work. For starters, I’ll have the pan-seared foie gras on spiced french toast cranberry kumquat chutney, maple glaze and crispy bacon, for main, the pan seared Tasmanian sea trout, chestnut gnocchi, roasted spaghetti squash, pickled red cabbage and preserved lemon yoghurt and the apple crumble to finish.

Wouldn’t mind trying to imitate some combinations myself…

Find Public at 210 Elizabeth Street, New York, NY 10012 http://public-nyc.com/

If you’re in the neighborhood of NYC… give me your personal review!

Leave a Reply

