Abby is going to open a restaurant one day [pg. 1 of The Story]

I work at an up and coming architectural firm called Carlson Grove Architects doing not much else but shuffle papers in and out of trays, take diction, stare at a computer screen for an unnecessarily ridiculous amount of time, and altogether acting ‘together’.

Yesterday, as a client was walking out of the meeting room he exclaimed, “I’ve got it! We should open a restaurant on level 2 above the retail.” “Who?” asks my boss deadpan and disinterested. The client says exasperated, “oh, anyone!” Pointing to half my face peering from behind the computer screen. ”You should open a restaurant, quit your job and open a restaurant!”

I laughed.

And then, the strangest thing happened. I couldn’t shake off what he said. I sat behind my computer screen slightly unsettled and asked myself, rather rhetorically, why the heck not? Why not open a kick ass restaurant…

>> next page

Leave a Reply

